Townsville Supercars:Van Gisbergen doubles up with charging drive from 12th – Supercars

Shane van Gisbergen doubled up in the second Townsville SuperSprint by converting a 12th place starting spot into victory in the third heat, having earlier won race two.

The Triple Eight driver, who secured the team’s 200th Supercars victory in the first of Sunday’s two 39 lap races, set the foundation for the unlikely win with a fast start from the sixth row, capped off with a brave move on heat one winner Scott McLaughlin for seventh place at the end of the first lap.

While McLaughlin bailed out of the battle early, pitting on lap seven for clear air, van Gisbergen went the other way. He opted to press on, including a scuffle with Cam Waters that saw the Tickford Ford driver pitched into a spin on the pitlane slip road.

After surviving an in-race investigation into the Waters contact, van Gisbergen didn’t stop until lap 24, giving him poor track position, but great tyre condition, for the run home.

Initially it looked as if McLaughlin’s strategy was the winner, the DJR Team Penske driver undercutting everyone on his fresh tyres to come out in front.

But a late safety car to retrieve Anton De Pasquale’s car from the Turn 6 barrier proved to be his undoing, bringing the likes of pole-sitter Todd Hazelwood, Jamie Whincup and van Gisbergen – who was ninth at the restart – back into the game.

When the race went green with nine laps to go, McLaughlin still looked like he might have enough in the tank, particularly after holding off a brief challenge from Hazelwood’s Brad Jones Racing Holden.

But once the two Triple Eight cars cleared Hazelwood their pace was unleashed, Whincup letting van Gisbergen through four laps from home to have a crack at the leader.

It proved to be a shrewd move, van Gisbergen not only using his superior grip to pass McLaughlin at Turn 12 on the same lap, but running the Mustang wide so that Whincup could sneak into second.

With no team orders in play, van Gisbergen was free to storm to his second victory of 2020, winning from further back on the grid than anybody has ever previously managed in Townsville.

“What an awesome race,” said van Gisbergen.

“I had a great car. I got stuck in the first stint, but the safety car worked out perfectly. It was a big battle at the end trying to do the team thing to help Jamie.”

McLaughlin clung on to third despite a late challenge from Chaz Mostert, but was left unimpressed with van Gisbergen’s move, which he labelled “pretty average”.

“Shane was playing the team game there,” he said.

McLaughlin still leads the series by 143 points over Whincup with just three events to go.

Scott Pye was a big mover once again, turning 17th on the grid into fifth, while Hazelwood went the other way, dropping back to sixth at the finish ahead of BJR team-mate Nick Percat, who had also started on the front row.

Van Gisbergen had earlier won from fourth on the grid, setting up the victory with a good start to jump Waters and aggressive car placement on the way into Turn 2.

While polesitter Percat and McLaughlin both ran down the inside into the slow right-hander, van Gisbergen ran a high line and popped out in between the top two.

After a handful of laps sitting behind Percat, van Gisbergen charged into the lead at the last corner on lap seven.

Once in front, he was unchallenged and won by more than 8s from McLaughlin.

Whincup finished third ahead of Percat, who was unable to capitalise on the fresh rubber afforded by running a long first stint to challenge for the podium at the end, and Waters in fifth.

Townsville Race 5 – 39 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Holden 49m32.7581s
2 Scott McLaughlin DJR Penske Ford 8.3952s
3 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Holden 10.2930s
4 Nick Percat Brad Jones Holden 13.5673s
5 Cameron Waters Tickford Ford 14.8073s
6 Scott Pye Schwerkolt Holden 16.1278s
7 Jack Le Brocq Tickford Ford 33.8566s
8 Lee Holdsworth Tickford Ford 36.3089s
9 Mark Winterbottom Schwerkolt Holden 38.4042s
10 Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Holden 42.9708s
11 Rick Kelly Kelly Ford 43.1928s
12 Bryce Fullwood Walkinshaw Holden 43.4214s
13 James Courtney Tickford Ford 44.4049s
14 Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones Holden 48.1101s
15 David Reynolds Erebus Holden 48.3035s
16 Anton De Pasquale Erebus Holden 49.4810s
17 Garry Jacobson Matt Stone Holden 52.1388s
18 Macauley Jones Tim Blanchard Holden 52.5054s
19 Alex Davison Sydney Holden 52.6732s
20 Fabian Coulthard DJR Penske Ford 52.7517s
21 Chris Pither Sydney Holden 56.0579s
22 Jack Smith Brad Jones Holden 58.3011s
23 Jake Kostecki Matt Stone Holden 58.7847s
24 Andre Heimgartner Kelly Ford 1m03.7529s

Townsville Race 6 – 39 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Holden 53m51.3919s
2 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Holden 0.9938s
3 Scott McLaughlin DJR Penske Ford 3.0318s
4 Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Holden 3.4544s
5 Scott Pye Schwerkolt Holden 6.8365s
6 Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones Holden 7.6599s
7 Nick Percat Brad Jones Holden 8.0998s
8 Fabian Coulthard DJR Penske Ford 9.4512s
9 James Courtney Tickford Ford 10.0154s
10 Lee Holdsworth Tickford Ford 12.0728s
11 David Reynolds Erebus Holden 12.0776s
12 Cameron Waters Tickford Ford 13.0851s
13 Mark Winterbottom Schwerkolt Holden 14.1375s
14 Jack Le Brocq Tickford Ford 14.7115s
15 Alex Davison Sydney Holden 15.0740s
16 Rick Kelly Kelly Ford 15.6158s
17 Andre Heimgartner Kelly Ford 16.0840s
18 Bryce Fullwood Walkinshaw Holden 17.1505s
19 Macauley Jones Tim Blanchard Holden 18.3460s
20 Garry Jacobson Matt Stone Holden 19.3614s
21 Jack Smith Brad Jones Holden 19.7662s
22 Jake Kostecki Matt Stone Holden 20.3663s
Anton De Pasquale Erebus Holden Retirement
Chris Pither Sydney Holden Retirement

Source Article

Next Post

Renault CEO: Alpine rebrand not about reviving past glory - F1

Sun Sep 6 , 2020
Renault CEO Luca de Meo says the Alpine rebrand of his company’s Formula 1 team is not about trying to revive past glories. The decision to rename Renault’s F1 team as Alpine next year is aimed at building a bigger future for the manufacturer that was founded in the 1950s. […]

You May Like