The Indianapolis 500 Will Have a Full Field

The 104th Indianapolis 500 will feature a full field of 33 drivers.

a group of people on a bridge: These are the 33 drivers that will chase a Borg Warner trophy over the next two weeks in the Hoosier State.

© Icon Sportswire – Getty Images
These are the 33 drivers that will chase a Borg Warner trophy over the next two weeks in the Hoosier State.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway unveiled the Field of 33 that will eventually take the green flag on Sunday, August 23.

The field includes eight previous winners, headlined by three-time winner Helio Castronves (2001, 2002, 2009) and single winners Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Takuma Sato (2017), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019).

Castroneves, making what he expects to be his final start for Team Penske, is looking to become just the fourth four-time winner behind AJ Foyt, Al Under and Rick Mears.

There was some trepidation that INDYCAR and IMS would not be able to reach a full field due to the ongoing global coronavirus pandemic, but late entries by Ben Hanley (DragonSpeed Racing) and James Davison (Dale Coyne, Byrd Racing, Belardi Autosport and Rick Ware Racing) will ensure 11 rows of 3.

The purse for the event has been nearly slashed in half.

Roger Penske announced an additional $2 million to reach a total $15 million purse when he completed his purchase of the Speedway back in January. However, with fans not permitted into the venue for the delayed event, the purse will not hold just $7.5 million – with the winner to receive just over $1 million.

In 2019, Simon Pagenaud earned $2,669,529 from his first 500 victory.

Meanwhile, the remaining non-winners is highlighted by two-time Formula 1 World Champion Fernando Alonso, competing with Arrow McLaren SP. Alonso is attempting to become just the second driver behind Graham Hill to win the global motorsports triple crown — the Indianapolis 500, 24 Hours of Le Mans and Monaco Grand Prix.

The field includes six past INDYCAR champions: Dixon, Hunter-Reay, Kanaan, Josef Newgarden, Pagenaud and Power. Newgarden is the reigning NTT INDYCAR champion.

Five drivers are eligible for rookie of the year honors this season: Oliver Askew, Dalton Kellett, Pato O’Ward, Alex Palou and Rinus VeeKay.

Andretti Autosport has entered six cars — the most of any team.

Practice opens Wednesday, Aug. 12 and runs through Friday, Aug. 14. Crown Royal Armed Forces Qualifying is scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 15 and Sunday, Aug. 16. The traditional final practice, expanded to two hours as part of Miller Lite Carb Day, will be held Friday, Aug. 21.

NBC’s live Indianapolis 500 broadcast begins at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday Aug. 23, with the green flag set for 2:30 p.m. The local live blackout has been lifted for the 2021 race.

Complete Entry List

1 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet

3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet

4 Charlie Kimball AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet

5 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet

7 Oliver Askew Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet

8 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

9 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

10 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

12 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet

14 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet

15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

18 Santino Ferucci Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan

20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

21 Rinus Veekay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

22 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Chevrolet

24 Sage Karam Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet

26 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Honda

27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Honda

28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda

29 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport Honda

30 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

41 Dalton Kellett AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet

45 Spencer Pigot Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

47 Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

51 James Davison Dale Coyne Racing Honda

55 Alex Palou Dale Coyne Racing Honda

59 Max Chilton Carlin Chevrolet

60 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Racing Honda

66 Fernando Alonso Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet

67 JR Hilderbrand Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet

81 Ben Hanley DragonSpeed Chevrolet

88 Colton Herta Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport Honda

98 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Curb-Agajanian

Continue Reading

Source Article