Madison, Ill. Scott Dixon and Takuma Sato repeated their 20-lap shootout from the Indianapolis 500 a week ago, with Dixon reversing the finishing order Saturday by winning at World Wide Technology Raceway outside of St. Louis. Sato held off Dixon last Sunday for his second Indy 500 victory in four […]

After a lackluster yellow-flag finish in the Indianapolis 500, IndyCar fans were treated to a spectacular, down-to-the-wire duel between Takuma Sato and Scott Dixon. KEY: USAC=United States Auto Club (1956-95); CART=Championship Auto Racing Teams (1970-2003)/Champ Car World Series (2004-08); IndyCar=IRL (1996-2010)/IndyCar (2011-present). CART was renamed Champ in 2004 and consolidated […]

As Team Penske-Chevrolet’s polesitter Will Power and fellow front-row starter Pato O’Ward of Arrow McLaren SP-Chevy came down towards the green at the start there was chaos in the midfield, as Alex Palou’s Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh car jumped out of line while still under yellow, Simon Pagenaud […]

The Bommarito Automotive Group 500 – this year split into two 250-mile races – saw IndyCar again adopt the oval qualifying system whereby each car gets a two-lap run, with everyone’s first lap deciding the grid for Saturday’s race, the second deciding the grid for Sunday’s round. Parc ferme rules also […]

© UK Indy 500 winner Takuma Sato 2020 See the full results. Rahal Letterman Lanigan-Honda’s Takuma Sato became a two-time Indianapolis 500 winner after leading home Scott Dixon under yellow flags, passing the otherwise dominant Ganassi driver at the start of the final stint. Dixon burst into the lead […]

The long, white beard cascading out from David Letterman’s mask as he climbed onto the new-look winner’s podium at Indianapolis Motor Speedway was evidence of just how long it’s been since the longtime “Late Show” host joined team co-owner Bobby Rahal in celebrating an Indy 500 victory. © Provided by […]

How the race went down. Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon burst into the lead at the start around the outside of Marco Andretti’s Andretti Herta Autosport machine with Takuma Sato sending his Rahal Letterman Lanigan car up into second along the backstraight. Behind, Ryan Hunter-Reay grabbed fourth ahead of Rinus […]

2017 Indy winner Sato lapped the 2.5-mile Speedway at 225.693mph to head Conor Daly’s Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet’s Conor Daly by 0.5mph, with Charlie Kimball third for A.J. Foyt Racing-Chevy, Alonso fifth for Arrow McLaren SP-Chevy and James Davison in the Dale Coyne Racing w/RWR/Byrd/Belardi. Oliver Askew made it two Arrow […]